pzgettherefirst

#FTBullies Doc Dump: PZ Myers and His Comments About the Rape Accusation Against Him (As of 3/4/2015)

As atheists, we use inconsistencies in the Bible to demonstrate its fallacy.

In completely unrelated news, PZ Myers has, to date, offered four descriptions of the rape accusation a student made against him.  For ease of comparison, I am dumping all of the accounts in one place in text and image form.

 

May 15, 2010

That’s not just a gay thing, MAJeff. I won’t meet privately with students either — I always keep my office door wide open, and when I’m working with students in the lab, I find excuses to move out and let them work on their own if it turns into a one-on-one event. I just can’t afford the risk.

I was also subject to accusations of harassment, once upon a time. A female student came into my lab when I was alone, unhappy about an exam grade, and openly threatened me — by going public with a story about a completely nonexistent sexual encounter right there.

Zoom, I was right out the door at that instant; asked a female grad student in the lab next door to sit with the student for a bit, and went straight to the chair of the department to explain the situation. I had to work fast, because I knew that if it turned into a he-said-she-said story, it wouldn’t matter that she was lying, it could get dragged out into an investigation that would easily destroy my career, no matter that I was innocent.

I was in a total panic, knowing full well how damaging that kind of accusation can be. Fortunately, I’d done the right thing by blowing it all wide open at the first hint of a threat, and getting witnesses on the spot.

pzmyersmay152010

March 30, 2013

Wait…she listened, & all she took from it was 1 or 2 sentences which she then misinterprets to mean I’m forever denying the possibility that a woman might make a false accusation? Nonsense. I’ve been threatened with a false rape accusation, one that could have totally destroyed my career.

I took it very seriously and moved quickly to provide evidence that it was false.

But of course we have to accept the personal testimony of women’s experiences. In that case, it would have been totally injust to simply say, “oh, she’s a woman, therefore she’s lying”. Most rape accusations are not false, so a priori dismissals are inappropriate, and if that woman had gone to the authorities (she didn’t, because I immediately brought in witnesses to make her effort futile) I would sure as hell hope they’d treat both of our positions with equal seriousness.

pzmyersmarch302013

November 18, 2014

PZ Myers
18 November 2014 at 8:58 pm

Dear gob, Nugent has become a slymepit clone. I notice this fable:

6. PZ has written three times about how he prevented an investigation into a threatened false allegation of rape against himself. He says that when a student threatened to make the allegation, he asked someone else to sit with her while he (zoom) went straight to the chair of the department to explain the situation before it could get dragged out into an investigation that he said could destroy his career, no matter that she was lying.

That’s straight from the slymepit. It has no relationship to reality. You get it echoed in a comment from some ass named Carr:

Myers prevented any possible investigation of an allegation of misconduct against him that could be conducted in line with official university policy.

Where the hell did that fantasy come from? In that incident, I went straight to the chair to invite an open investigation — that’s what you do when there’s an accusation. If I’d not gone to university officials immediately, and had instead tried to cover it up, there would be an appearance of guilt. Suddenly, in the minds of these fuckheads, reporting an incident becomes preventingan investigation.

As it was, the chair, a woman faculty person, and a woman grad student met with her, she recanted and apologized, and I declined to pursue further official action. I followed proper procedure, was completely open about the incident to all involved, and now asshole Nugent is happily embracing slymepit lies and distortions to claim that what I did was sexist? Disgusting. He’s become a demented fuckwit.

pzmyersnov182014

March 3, 2015

The other thing he’s doing is throwing about wild accusations, including this one:

After a woman accused PZ Myers of rape, he bullied her into silence, violating Title IX in the process. Details: http://t.co/kA0gHCkvP8
— Mike Cernovich (@PlayDangerously) March 2, 2015

After a woman accused PZ Myers of rape, he bullied her into silence, violating Title IX in the process.

One has to wonder…what does that have to do with Cernovich’s misuse of CDC data? He’s a lawyer, he should know the irrelevancy of bringing in that charge.

It’s also a grossly dishonest accusation. It’s based entirely on an exchange I reported of an unfortunate encounter with a student — they have no witnesses for their dishonest extensions of the story, because they’re entirely confabulations of their own bizarre obsessions.

Here’s the facts. A desperate student threatened to threaten me with public accusations of sexual behavior if I didn’t give her a good grade. My response was to immediately leave my office, check in with a women graduate student next door and ask her to talk with the student, and then went to my administrator to explain the situation. I moved fast because hanging about and arguing about the situation would have been pointless, and also would have given an opportunity to claim prolonged private contact. My chair requested some assistance from a woman faculty member, and they met with the student to get her story.

I was not there. I had basically recused myself from further involvement. There was no “bullying” — I did not tell the student to do anything, and had no further conversation with her about the accusation in any way. I placed the entire problem in the lap of the university administrators, who made sure that people who could be sympathetic, or at least objective, about her claims were present. She was given ample opportunity to talk freely about the situation, without me present.

I later heard second-hand that she’d retracted the accusation, and that there was no punishment or penalty. That was the end of it.

Now some fuckwits like to claim that I was somehow out to avoid investigation, when my entire response was to 1) remove the possibility that I was engaged in inappropriate behavior with a student by getting the hell out, and 2) be completely open and honest about the situation and allow third parties to handle it.

I don’t know why these morons are bringing up Title IX. You can read about sexual harassment and Title IX, and nothing I did was in violation. I was threatened in private, I stepped away from further engagement, and brought in official representatives of the university, to whom she could have made a public, official complaint. She chose not to, because her claims were false, she would not be able to support them, and I had taken steps to make sure that there wasn’t even an opportunity for her to claim I’d attacked her.

But this claim that I violated Title IX and bullied a student into silence, with the implication that I’d engaged in sexual misconduct, appears frequently enough, thanks to certain dissembling, obsessed assholes who repeat it with their confabulated slant added to it. Keep in mind that the frauds perpetuating their version of the story have no information to justify their bogus twists: so far, they all even get the university where it occurred completely wrong. They are making shit up.

You will also notice something else: these people who peddle the myth never say what they would do differently. Stepping away from the situation and turning it over to official representatives of the university is exactly what you’re supposed to do, and exactly what should be done under Title IX guidelines.

But there is one silver lining to all of this: nowadays when someone cites this event and spins into it this collection of legendary interpretations from the mouths of liars, I know exactly what kind of contemptible idiot I’m dealing with.

pzmyersmarch32015part1
pzmyersmarch32015part2
pzmyersmarch32015part3

Leave a Reply

